Smashbox Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Smashbox ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner

Smashbox ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner

Stay sharp! Our waterproof kohl liner glides on and self-sharpens every time you take the cap off.
Overall rating:
4.398 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(166 reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 166 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
12
1 Star
6
166 Reviews (132 out of 156(85%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend.)
Customer reviews
Review 1 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarAraceli
fromAliso Viejo, CA
Age:18 to 24
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMay 15, 2015

Designers didn't think this one through

Made an account just to write this review. Used it for about 3 weeks until the tip broke off and became unusable. There is no way to push the eyeliner back up without the sharpener being able to grab hold of the tip. Wow, how did the designers not think about this?
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarShynomom
fromIllinois
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedSeptember 29, 2014

Not enough product for the price

I gave this eye liner an average rating not because of its performance but because of its price. I LOVE how it looks, how it stays on, and how easy it is use. I can't continue to purchase it however, because I just ordered on September 7 and it is already gone today, September 29! That's less than 3 weeks of daily application for $20! Sorry, Smashbox! Love the product but just can't justify the price for 3 weeks of use :(
31 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDara
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 6, 2013

Nice Alternative to Jet Set Wterproof Eyeliner

To me the best eye liner ever is Smashbox's Jet Set Waterproof eye liner. I swear by this product. But these kohl liners are a really nice alternative. It saves the step of having to use a liner brush to put it on. It took me a few days to figure out how the mechanism works. You don't have to twist the wand to get the liner to come up, you just put the cap back on and it does it for you. Not brain surgery but I didn't get it at first and there were no directions.
53 of 53 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarMacTruck
fromPonte Vedra Beach, Fl.
Age:65 or over
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedApril 17, 2014

Too little of it.

The liner is my perfect color and stays on beautifully but there is so very little of it that I have gone through 4 of the "sticks " in 2 months and have spent $80.00 and I only apply once in the morning and perhaps twice a day on weekends. The cost for an eye liner to me is not reasonable. It seems it could easily contain more for the cost.
26 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarakaye914
fromToledo, OH
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedAugust 2, 2013

Disappointed

I exclusively use Smashbox products and love them all so I was excited to try this eyeliner. The product itself is ok, however I like other Smashbox liners better. The biggest issue was within my third use the tip broke off after not applying much pressure at all. It is essentially unusable now and very disappointing to get such a short life out of an eyeliner, especially after paying a premium. I normally don't mind paying the price for Smashbox as I think it is worth it, but this product was a let down.
74 of 77 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarHolly
fromBoston, MA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJuly 26, 2013

Knew this would be a favorite

Smashbox has done it again - a thin, waterproof eyeliner that will not budge. They have a thicker, crayon-style that is great too, but this one can line right to the lash line. Got it in black, can't wait to get more (my tip broke and I panicked when it wouldn't sharpen, but realized you have to put the cover on to sharpen it). Now all they need is a waterproof mascara and I will be a happy camper!
20 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSparklesandglitter
fromSacramento, CA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 21, 2013

Well-worth $20

This product is best for:long-lasting, everyday make-up
I do not usually spend that much money on eyeliner, but I was curious about this new waterproof and always sharp eyeliner.
I always buy brown or black, but after talking with an agent in the online chat, I decided to try the grey-silver color, Storm. The results are great. It goes very nicely with my brown eyes, giving a sharp but softer look than I usually get with black. I wear it everyday now!
The end is definetely always sharp, which allows for great, precise line. So far, the end has never broken. Also, even though the product is waterproof, it goes on very smoothly and nicely. It does not bulge when in contact with water, but my regular make-up remover removes it easily.
I bike to go to work everyday (and it is really hot) and it never moves or leaks.
Will definetely buy again!
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarKari
fromIndiana
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMarch 27, 2014

Disappointed

I really liked this eyeliner but for the price I paid do not like that it lasted less than a month. I will not but it again.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarJMIKC
fromKansas City
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedFebruary 26, 2014

DISAPPOINTED

I purchased this eyeliner in December 2013 and loved it! But in just 1 month, the tip broke off & now the eyeliner is of no use because there is nothing left. It was not from pressing hard- this liner goes on very smooth and you barely have to press down. Very disappointing because I really loved everything else about it. And the price is a little high for something that is going to break off & waste the product. Going to reach out to customer service to see if there is anything they can do. Will update.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarDarc
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 14, 2015

Its great, but....

I love this eyeliner! But every single one i have bought the tip breaks! It wastes them and i wish they could fix that
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarMalxoxo
fromPewaukee, WI
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Grey
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedNovember 19, 2013

Good until it breaks

I really enjoyed this eyeliner...for about a month. The tip broke off and after that there is no way of using it anymore. Not worth the 20 dollars to use it for about a month. Very disappointed that I had to throw it away when I knew there was much more eyeliner still left. I hope they re-think the design of this eyeliner for that reason.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarSoniesone
fromCleveland,OH
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJuly 28, 2013

Wonderful! Awesome eyeliner

This product is best for:eyes
I love tightlining & usually the eyeliners fade or ride down my under eyes. Uggh. This stayed out all day & was very easy to apply. You won't regret this beauty buy!
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJeannelaurie
fromAspen, CO
Age:55 to 64
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Grey
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJune 14, 2015

World's Best Eyeliner

I have been on a mission to find an eyeliner that goes on in a controlled and smooth way and does not smudge or come off easily. I have dabbled with and used many brands over the years and used one in particular but never got the results I wanted. I live in a small town and recently while visiting Chicago, I bought Smashbox's always sharp eyeliner pencil and was so bowled over with the results, I ordered a few more colors online.
It is simply the BEST.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avataroliverispurple
fromSaint Paul, MN
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 11, 2013

I absolutely love this eyeliner!!!!

This is the best eyeliner ever! Pencil versus liquid was always my dilemma prior to experiencing Smashbox 's always sharp waterproof kohl liner. Pencil eyeliners are easy to control but they are often dull. Liquid eyeliner goes on smoothly but it can be very sloppy if you don't have a steady hand. This eyeliner is the best of both worlds. It is easy to control like a pencil and it goes on smoothly like a liquid. Also, you never have to sharpen it. When you see that you need more pencil you place the cap on, turn it clock-wise one click, and then untwist the cap. Now you are ready to apply the eyeliner! It's that easy! I never thought I would be so excited about an eyeliner. I have tried a ton of different products and this is by far the best eyeliner I have found!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarsamztbs
fromRockford, IA
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 22, 2015

Love this mascara!

This product is best for:anytime
I ordered the Penny Lane eye liner to replace the one that finally ran out. So I knew the quality product I would be receiving.
What I didn't expect, was to receive such a great mascara sample. The Full Exposure mascara just does not clump. And the coverage is incredible.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarPlatinumHoney
fromNY, NY
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 24, 2015

Favorite

This product is best for:anyone
I have been using this eye liner for some time...like it a lot...can really deepen the color by multiple applications...been using the green...really pretty w/flecks of gold. Stays on!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarsln13
fromCRYSTAL LAKE, IL.
Age:55 to 64
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 16, 2014

SMOOTH APPLICATION LINNER

This product is best for:aging eyes
The older I get the harder it is to get a smooth line on my lids. But not with this one. It glides right over the wrinkles and looks smooth. It also stays on all day without smudges.... I have the violetta, cabana, and french blue.I love them all. And I love the way you just close it and make sure you hear the click so it is sharp for next use. I want more!!!!!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarbhamlady
fromBirmingham, AL
Age:55 to 64
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJuly 27, 2015

Best Eyeliner

This product is best for:everyone
Have tried other eyeliners, but always come back to this. Lasts and so easy to apply
Review 19 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarhappygolucky
fromSt Marys Pa
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMarch 23, 2014

loved if it would last

I loved the ease of this product but I should have listened to the other reviews before I purchased. It only lasted 2 weeks. I love smashbox products but this is one that I won't purchase again :(
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ALWAYS SHARP WATERPROOF KOHL LINER Award Winner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarElle11
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJuly 18, 2015

Fav eyeliner

Easy to use, goes on smooth, nice range of colors to choose from
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>