Smashbox Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Contouring made easy!
Overall rating:
4.713 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
80 Reviews (71 out of 73(97%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend.)
Customer reviews
Review 1 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarButtercup
fromBoca Raton, Fl
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 13, 2014

So Happy They brought this Back!!

This product is best for:everyone
I always wanted to try this, but it kept getting discontinued. WHY?? So when I saw it was available, I quickly placed my order.I always wanted to contour my round face, but found it too advanced for my skills. I recently bought a contour pencil from another company, but it looked like dirt on my pale skin. But not this compact! I followed the directions step by step, and when I looked in a larger mirror, I was stunned at how good it looked & how natural! The brush made it idiot proof. The color is taupe, thus creating a true shadow effect, & although I never wear bronzer, I found this light enough that it just gave a natural glow. I have read other reviews that say the highlighter is too light, but when light hits your face is does the job. I do recommend that after you have applied the products, blend,blend, & blend some more with a fluffy brush is important.SMASHBOX: Please stop with the discontinuing of great products! Does anyone else remember the artificial light in diffuse? I'm still trying to find something as great as that was, but nothing comes close. I still have the glass bottle :(
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSouthernBelle
fromNew Orleans, LA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Medium/Dark
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJune 20, 2013

Best Contour Kit EVER!!!

This product is best for:accentuating your best features
THANK YOU Smashbox for bringing back this makeup staple! I use this kit every single day and was bummed when I tried to buy another one last year and found out that it was discontinued. Please consider making the Contour Kit part of your permanent collection.
The colors are matte and perfect for adding definition along the jawline, temple, nose and cheekbones. The contour shade is a cool brown (creates the perfect shadow), the bronzer is a mid-tone warm brown (blends like a dream!), and the highlighter gives a sophisticated glow that is daytime/office appropriate (not sparkly at all; also good for highlighting the browbone). The contour brush is just the right size to fit in the hollows of your cheeks and blends the shades effortlessly with no visible or harsh lines. Once you follow the accompanied instructions (love the sticker on the mirror!) and watch Lori's "How to Contour 101" video, you will be simply amazed at the results!!
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatararisgrandma
fromGardner, KS
Age:55 to 64
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 3, 2014

So easy!!

This product is best for:beginner
Due to medications my face has become swollen and I lost my check bones. This set tells me exactly what to put where without any guesswork. Just follow the easy steps as shown and you have a sculpted face without looking like you're faking it. ;-) Thank you Smashbox!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarNikkiMarie
fromGarden city, MI
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 6, 2014

Best contouring kit Ever!!!!!!

This product is best for:everyone
Wow smashbox you really blew my mind when I used this contouring kit!!!! I honestly never used anything to contour my face before, but I was curious to try it. I thought it would be difficult to use but I read the directions and watched the how to video, and its so simple to use. I took a picture of myself before and after and wow what a difference. It defined my face so well. My nose, jawline and cheeks looked like a professional did my makeup. Everyone said I looked amazing and asked what I did. When I told them about this kit they were shocked that a little powder can do all that. They assumed I had work done. Lol if I could rate this as a 20 I would. So try it and see what an amazing product can do for you!!! Thank you so much smashbox for making great products so that we all look like movie stars and models.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarPiaffedreams
fromFolsom, CA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Grey
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 20, 2011

Sultry Jawbones... and Uh--Cleavage!

This product is best for:super sexy sultry looks
You know those slightly chubby cheeks? The ones that always make you look like a little girl instead of a sultry woman no matter how fit and trim you are? Okay, so that is me. I bought this product hoping to put some more dramatic shape to my face.
It looks awesome! I've had so many comments on how sexy I look, how much weight I've lost (and I haven't lost a pound) when I use the Step-By-Step Contour Kit from Smashbox.
In fact, it blended so subtly and naturally, that I tried using it to create some definition into my paltry cleavage one night when wearing a low cut blouse. My husband did a double take! He thought I had on a new bra. Now it is a standard part of my ready routine when wearing any tops that show a little hint of cleavage. I contour with my Smashbox kit. My hint of cleavage looks like honest to goodness defined cleavage.
You've done it again Smashbox. Thank you for a great product!
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarCaliber
fromWinnipeg, MB
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMay 30, 2012

My must have

Nice contour kit. Easy to use and comes with instructions if its your first time. Gives me a nice glow and pulls up my cheekbones, only draw back is if you are rather fair like me the highlight may not give you that drama you are looking for but I can put the darkest shade on soft light enough and don't look like a coal miner!
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatardkeith
fromGilbert, AZ
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 16, 2014

Makes me feel like a pro!

I thought these colors would be too dark on my fair skin but they aren't! The instructions are really easy to follow and I can definitely tell a difference in my look with this vs with foundation alone!
Review 8 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarBeebee
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 29, 2012

Newbie

I’m pretty new buying Smashbox and specially contouring my face. I am trying to get better at a flawless make up. So far, I am happy with this step-step contour since it has the chart of where/how to apply each product. I have not yet perfected it but I am working on it and I am glad that I started with this product so far so good even though I do a better job with different brush than the one it came with it. For sure, I will continue buying Smashbox.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMarchs
fromTarpon Springs, FL
Age:55 to 64
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 12, 2014

Great product!

This product is best for:anyone
This is a great product. Please make sure you follow directions.
Review 10 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarcorquam
fromWashington
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
PostedOctober 13, 2014

Great product! Love it.

I have never used a contour kit before...always just use blush and highlighter. But, I have to say I LOVE this kit!! It really helps define my cheekbones and nose with the darkest pigment, and bronze and highlight with the 2 additional colors. I am very fair skinned and none of the colors were too dark on my skin. With the right amount of blending, it looks just perfect. Highly recommend this product!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBrittanyyyyyy
fromDallas, TX
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 30, 2014

Wonderful Coutour Kit

These are perfect matte colors for contouring. I would love to see the middle color as a nice blush- other wise this is a long lasting perfect powder for day and night use.
Review 12 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarcarolinamom
fromWilmington, NC
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
PostedNovember 26, 2014

Great kit.

This product is best for:everyone
This is my first contour kit. It is easy to use and comes with great instructions. I love this kit and it makes me look like I have lost weight.
Review 13 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarGrams
fromSupply, NC
Age:55 to 64
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 10, 2014

excellent product

finally a contour kit with detailed instructions!!! Easy to follow instructions & easy to apply. It blends well with my foundation & lasts all day. The product isn't skimpy so it should last me for a while & at a great price! This is my 1st Smashbox purchase but I'm so happy with this product I can't wait to try some of the other products.
Review 14 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarbloofan
fromFair Oaks, CA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 17, 2012

What a surprise

I did not know about contouring before I saw this kit with smashbox. Now, it is my secret weapon. The photos people take of me have been amazing. The one thing I might suggest is getting a better contour brush. Otherwise, it is an amazing tool.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLily
fromRedding, CA
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 19, 2011

Love, love, love this!

I've been wanting to try the contour kit for a while...I'll be singing soon on a large stage, and knew this was the time to try it. I've tried a couple of drugstore ones, but they were too bronze-y. I'm very fair skinned, and I have a weak chin. :0( I now have cheekbones! And a more defined jawline! I believe the colors will work on all skin tones, and I highly recommend this product. The brush is a bit smaller than I thought it would be, but for me it isn't a problem.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarKris10d
fromHouston, TX
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 9, 2014

Great kit!

This contour kit is great. Simple, compact, awesome smashbox quality. It lasts unlike others I have tried. Colors work even for fair skin tone. Three of my friends have ordered it.
Review 17 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRenee
fromDavenport, IA
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 27, 2011

Simply Amazing

This product is best for:everyone
I love, love, LOVE this contour kit. This kit does what I had 5 other products for, but SO much better. I love the highlighter because it gives a glowly look without glitter. I'm very fair, but the darkest color still looks believable blended in, and it provides a nose job appearance without the surgery.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRed923
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Grey
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 3, 2014

Subtle Contour Kit

This product is best for:anyone
I am pleased with the results, I am fair skinned and the coloring is subtle and perfect for what I was looking for.
Review 19 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCotonMom
fromDelaware
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 28, 2014

Amazing!

This product is best for:anyone
I was truly amazed at this product - it can really change how you look for the better!
Review 20 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRoxiegurl
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 23, 2014

Amazed! O.O

I ordered my contour kit because I wanted to add more definition to my face. I used it twice and already I'm getting great comments on my skin! I love it! I'm so glad I made the purchase and I will be reordering when I run out :)
1 2 3 4 next>>