Smashbox Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Contouring made easy!
Overall rating:
4.683 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 104 reviews
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
104 Reviews (91 out of 97(94%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend.)
Customer reviews
Review 1 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
fromLubbock, Texas
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMarch 3, 2015

It's good

User submitted photo
I think as far as contouring palettes go this is good. Still a little chalkie a little more creamier texture. Would be better. But I like it.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromNew Orleans, LA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Medium/Dark
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJune 20, 2013

Best Contour Kit EVER!!!

This product is best for:accentuating your best features
THANK YOU Smashbox for bringing back this makeup staple! I use this kit every single day and was bummed when I tried to buy another one last year and found out that it was discontinued. Please consider making the Contour Kit part of your permanent collection.
The colors are matte and perfect for adding definition along the jawline, temple, nose and cheekbones. The contour shade is a cool brown (creates the perfect shadow), the bronzer is a mid-tone warm brown (blends like a dream!), and the highlighter gives a sophisticated glow that is daytime/office appropriate (not sparkly at all; also good for highlighting the browbone). The contour brush is just the right size to fit in the hollows of your cheeks and blends the shades effortlessly with no visible or harsh lines. Once you follow the accompanied instructions (love the sticker on the mirror!) and watch Lori's "How to Contour 101" video, you will be simply amazed at the results!!
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromBoca Raton, Fl
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 13, 2014

So Happy They brought this Back!!

This product is best for:everyone
I always wanted to try this, but it kept getting discontinued. WHY?? So when I saw it was available, I quickly placed my order.I always wanted to contour my round face, but found it too advanced for my skills. I recently bought a contour pencil from another company, but it looked like dirt on my pale skin. But not this compact! I followed the directions step by step, and when I looked in a larger mirror, I was stunned at how good it looked & how natural! The brush made it idiot proof. The color is taupe, thus creating a true shadow effect, & although I never wear bronzer, I found this light enough that it just gave a natural glow. I have read other reviews that say the highlighter is too light, but when light hits your face is does the job. I do recommend that after you have applied the products, blend,blend, & blend some more with a fluffy brush is important.SMASHBOX: Please stop with the discontinuing of great products! Does anyone else remember the artificial light in diffuse? I'm still trying to find something as great as that was, but nothing comes close. I still have the glass bottle :(
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromOpelousas, Louisiana
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMay 5, 2015

Wanted to try contouring...

I had been wanting to try the contouring craze going on at the moment, but was extremely weary of being able to accomplish it correctly. I read the reviews of the Smashbox Contouring Kit and because Smashbox has NEVER disappointed me before, I gave it a shot and purchased it. Thank God, I chose this kit over the ones with 4-6 different shades to choose from because thsee shades are all you need to master the art of contouring! After a little practice, I perfected contouring and it has added so much to my makeup routine and the final look. Yay! Thank you Smasbox! Join the contouring craze and do it with this kit.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromFolsom, CA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Grey
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 20, 2011

Sultry Jawbones... and Uh--Cleavage!

This product is best for:super sexy sultry looks
You know those slightly chubby cheeks? The ones that always make you look like a little girl instead of a sultry woman no matter how fit and trim you are? Okay, so that is me. I bought this product hoping to put some more dramatic shape to my face.
It looks awesome! I've had so many comments on how sexy I look, how much weight I've lost (and I haven't lost a pound) when I use the Step-By-Step Contour Kit from Smashbox.
In fact, it blended so subtly and naturally, that I tried using it to create some definition into my paltry cleavage one night when wearing a low cut blouse. My husband did a double take! He thought I had on a new bra. Now it is a standard part of my ready routine when wearing any tops that show a little hint of cleavage. I contour with my Smashbox kit. My hint of cleavage looks like honest to goodness defined cleavage.
You've done it again Smashbox. Thank you for a great product!
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromGardner, KS
Age:55 to 64
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 3, 2014

So easy!!

This product is best for:beginner
Due to medications my face has become swollen and I lost my check bones. This set tells me exactly what to put where without any guesswork. Just follow the easy steps as shown and you have a sculpted face without looking like you're faking it. ;-) Thank you Smashbox!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromFort Wayne, IN
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 9, 2015

excellent for first time users

This was the best contouring kit ever! Shades works on any skin tone and gives you step by step directions for perfect contouring for every face shape. Plus free brush to get precision.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
fromWinnipeg, MB
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMay 30, 2012

My must have

Nice contour kit. Easy to use and comes with instructions if its your first time. Gives me a nice glow and pulls up my cheekbones, only draw back is if you are rather fair like me the highlight may not give you that drama you are looking for but I can put the darkest shade on soft light enough and don't look like a coal miner!
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromSacramento, CA
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMay 26, 2015

love it!!!

This product is best for:anyone
Oh my!!! I am in love with the contour kit!! I love how it give you a basic guide on how to contour your face. Its smooth doesn't feel to heavy and when I want to do my eyeshadow a neutral earth color I use it as well worth my money!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 29, 2012

Newbie

I’m pretty new buying Smashbox and specially contouring my face. I am trying to get better at a flawless make up. So far, I am happy with this step-step contour since it has the chart of where/how to apply each product. I have not yet perfected it but I am working on it and I am glad that I started with this product so far so good even though I do a better job with different brush than the one it came with it. For sure, I will continue buying Smashbox.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 26, 2015

Love it

So easy to apply if you follow the directions. Love it.
Review 12 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromHouston, tx
Age:17 or under
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 29, 2015

Amazing contour kit!

This was my first time to contour and this kit was so helpful.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedAugust 11, 2015

Ok

I was excited about this product but I don't see anything crazy about it. Perhaps it's me not doing it right but so far I think it was a waste of money
Review 14 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
frompacoima,ca
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedAugust 9, 2015

worst contour

This product is best for:no one
I thought I was going to love this contour kit. But in reality it is the worst contour. I wish I could return it. Not worth it at all. It is very dark and doesn't shade well.
Review 15 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, OH
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJuly 20, 2015

Contouring kit

This product is best for:everyone
This is such a great kit for beginners or people who don't feel comfortable doing the contouring with differing shades of foundation a la kim kardashian. This gives a really subtle shape to your face and it's appropriate for everyday use. I also use the light and the dark as eyeshadow in a pinch. Love it.
Review 16 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromRedding, CA
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 19, 2011

Love, love, love this!

I've been wanting to try the contour kit for a while...I'll be singing soon on a large stage, and knew this was the time to try it. I've tried a couple of drugstore ones, but they were too bronze-y. I'm very fair skinned, and I have a weak chin. :0( I now have cheekbones! And a more defined jawline! I believe the colors will work on all skin tones, and I highly recommend this product. The brush is a bit smaller than I thought it would be, but for me it isn't a problem.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromFair Oaks, CA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 17, 2012

What a surprise

I did not know about contouring before I saw this kit with smashbox. Now, it is my secret weapon. The photos people take of me have been amazing. The one thing I might suggest is getting a better contour brush. Otherwise, it is an amazing tool.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromDavenport, IA
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 27, 2011

Simply Amazing

This product is best for:everyone
I love, love, LOVE this contour kit. This kit does what I had 5 other products for, but SO much better. I love the highlighter because it gives a glowly look without glitter. I'm very fair, but the darkest color still looks believable blended in, and it provides a nose job appearance without the surgery.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromCanmoare, Alberta
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJuly 7, 2015

Step-by-Step Trio of Colour!

Fantastic idea; a trio of colour selection all in one package.
Easy to use and very portable.
Also comes with a styled brush to help with application.
Review 20 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
fromMorris, NJ
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedJanuary 9, 2015

contour kit missing contour color

This product is best for:adding glow to face
The contour color in the kit is much lighter than depicted on the website. Bronzer and highlight were pretty close. Thus, there's not much contouring going on, more like 2 shades of bronzer. I like the highlight. Subtle and pretty. The concept is good...having the trio in a nice compact with a versatile brush included. Too bad.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>