Smashbox Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Contouring made easy!
Overall rating:
4.707 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 133 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
133 Reviews (118 out of 124(95%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend.)
Customer reviews
Review 1 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
fromLubbock, Texas
Age35 to 44
Skin ToneLight/Medium
Eye ColorBlue
Using Smashbox for1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMarch 3, 2015

It's good

User submitted photo
I think as far as contouring palettes go this is good. Still a little chalkie a little more creamier texture. Would be better. But I like it.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromSLC, UT
Age25 to 34
Skin ToneFair/Light
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox forOver 3 Years
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 16, 2015

First Time Countouring

I've never contoured before, so I was nervous to see how this would turn out. Luckily, the step-by-step guide was exactly what I needed. It's easy to use and the subtle colors look perfect. i've gotten a lot of compliments lately on how great I look, not how great my makeup looks--which is an important distinction for me. I want to wear my makeup, I don't want my makeup wearing me.
As for the actual colors:
The contour color is subtle and beautiful. There is no shimmer, which leaves my cheekbones looking naturally defined.
The bronze color is also pretty. I don't use it as much, but I think it adds the finishing touch to my cheekbones.
The highlight is probably my least favorite color of the three, because it doesn't seem to do much. However, this may be because of my fair skin, which is especially light in the winter. I probably can't see the highlight over my equally light foundation. I get fairly tan in the summer, so I look forward to trying it out then, too.
This is a five star product because of how much I love the overall effect. If you want to try contouring, I highly recommend it!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromNew Orleans, LA
Age35 to 44
Skin ToneMedium/Dark
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox forOver 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJune 20, 2013

Best Contour Kit EVER!!!

This product is best for:accentuating your best features
THANK YOU Smashbox for bringing back this makeup staple! I use this kit every single day and was bummed when I tried to buy another one last year and found out that it was discontinued. Please consider making the Contour Kit part of your permanent collection.
The colors are matte and perfect for adding definition along the jawline, temple, nose and cheekbones. The contour shade is a cool brown (creates the perfect shadow), the bronzer is a mid-tone warm brown (blends like a dream!), and the highlighter gives a sophisticated glow that is daytime/office appropriate (not sparkly at all; also good for highlighting the browbone). The contour brush is just the right size to fit in the hollows of your cheeks and blends the shades effortlessly with no visible or harsh lines. Once you follow the accompanied instructions (love the sticker on the mirror!) and watch Lori's "How to Contour 101" video, you will be simply amazed at the results!!
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromFolsom, CA
Age35 to 44
Skin ToneLight/Medium
Eye ColorGrey
Using Smashbox forLess Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 20, 2011

Sultry Jawbones... and Uh--Cleavage!

This product is best for:super sexy sultry looks
You know those slightly chubby cheeks? The ones that always make you look like a little girl instead of a sultry woman no matter how fit and trim you are? Okay, so that is me. I bought this product hoping to put some more dramatic shape to my face.
It looks awesome! I've had so many comments on how sexy I look, how much weight I've lost (and I haven't lost a pound) when I use the Step-By-Step Contour Kit from Smashbox.
In fact, it blended so subtly and naturally, that I tried using it to create some definition into my paltry cleavage one night when wearing a low cut blouse. My husband did a double take! He thought I had on a new bra. Now it is a standard part of my ready routine when wearing any tops that show a little hint of cleavage. I contour with my Smashbox kit. My hint of cleavage looks like honest to goodness defined cleavage.
You've done it again Smashbox. Thank you for a great product!
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromBoca Raton, Fl
Age35 to 44
Skin ToneFair
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox forOver 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 13, 2014

So Happy They brought this Back!!

This product is best for:everyone
I always wanted to try this, but it kept getting discontinued. WHY?? So when I saw it was available, I quickly placed my order.I always wanted to contour my round face, but found it too advanced for my skills. I recently bought a contour pencil from another company, but it looked like dirt on my pale skin. But not this compact! I followed the directions step by step, and when I looked in a larger mirror, I was stunned at how good it looked & how natural! The brush made it idiot proof. The color is taupe, thus creating a true shadow effect, & although I never wear bronzer, I found this light enough that it just gave a natural glow. I have read other reviews that say the highlighter is too light, but when light hits your face is does the job. I do recommend that after you have applied the products, blend,blend, & blend some more with a fluffy brush is important.SMASHBOX: Please stop with the discontinuing of great products! Does anyone else remember the artificial light in diffuse? I'm still trying to find something as great as that was, but nothing comes close. I still have the glass bottle :(
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromOpelousas, Louisiana
Age35 to 44
Skin ToneFair/Light
Eye ColorHazel
Using Smashbox for1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMay 5, 2015

Wanted to try contouring...

I had been wanting to try the contouring craze going on at the moment, but was extremely weary of being able to accomplish it correctly. I read the reviews of the Smashbox Contouring Kit and because Smashbox has NEVER disappointed me before, I gave it a shot and purchased it. Thank God, I chose this kit over the ones with 4-6 different shades to choose from because thsee shades are all you need to master the art of contouring! After a little practice, I perfected contouring and it has added so much to my makeup routine and the final look. Yay! Thank you Smasbox! Join the contouring craze and do it with this kit.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromGardner, KS
Age55 to 64
Skin ToneLight/Medium
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox forLess Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 3, 2014

So easy!!

This product is best for:beginner
Due to medications my face has become swollen and I lost my check bones. This set tells me exactly what to put where without any guesswork. Just follow the easy steps as shown and you have a sculpted face without looking like you're faking it. ;-) Thank you Smashbox!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
fromWinnipeg, MB
Age18 to 24
Skin ToneFair
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox for1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMay 30, 2012

My must have

Nice contour kit. Easy to use and comes with instructions if its your first time. Gives me a nice glow and pulls up my cheekbones, only draw back is if you are rather fair like me the highlight may not give you that drama you are looking for but I can put the darkest shade on soft light enough and don't look like a coal miner!
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
fromLynchburg, Va
Age55 to 64
Skin ToneMedium/Dark
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox forOver 3 Years
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJanuary 26, 2016

Step by step contour kit is great

This product is best for:beginners who are just learning to use contour
I ordered the kit and was very pleased with it because it has a diagram showing you just where to place the contour and highlighter. The only reason why i did not give it five stars is because the highlighter is running out and I have plenty of the other two colors, could not find just the highlighter pot alone and did not want to reorder the 45.00 kit when I did not need the other colors. Will have to see if I can find another hightlighter to replace the pot.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromBaltimore, Md
Age45 to 54
Skin ToneLight/Medium
Eye ColorGreen
Using Smashbox forOver 3 Years
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedFebruary 2, 2016

best small contour kit made

This product is best for:all excopt darker skin tones
I love this kit, and always have one in my kit, at home, and in my car...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromThe Hague, Netherlands
Age25 to 34
Skin ToneLight
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox forLess Than 1 Year
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 28, 2016

Perfect Addition

This product is best for:everyone
I am new to the make-up world and found myself a rather large fan of the Smashbox products. As I started to build my make-up bag, I figured I should learn the contouring game at some point. So, I took the plunge and ordered my first EVER contouring kit from Smashbox. Boy was I pleased! The instructions were so easy to read and the powder was so smooth to apply. I have always been stressed about my nose, but this helped me create the, in my eyes, perfect 'nose job' without having to see a plastic surgeon. YES!!!!
I absolutely adore this contour kit and look forward to my next purchase. Thank you, Smashbox!
Review 12 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA
Age25 to 34
Skin ToneMedium
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox forLess Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 29, 2012

Newbie

I’m pretty new buying Smashbox and specially contouring my face. I am trying to get better at a flawless make up. So far, I am happy with this step-step contour since it has the chart of where/how to apply each product. I have not yet perfected it but I am working on it and I am glad that I started with this product so far so good even though I do a better job with different brush than the one it came with it. For sure, I will continue buying Smashbox.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
fromWinnipeg, Manitoba
Age25 to 34
Skin ToneFair/Light
Eye ColorBlue
Using Smashbox forLess Than 1 Year
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 12, 2016

How Simple to Contour!

I loved how it shows how to contour right on the mirror. It is really meant to be that simple!
Review 14 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromLivonia, MI
Age18 to 24
Skin ToneLight/Medium
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox forLess Than 1 Year
PostedDecember 17, 2015

LOVE

This product is best for:newbies
This was my first contouring purchase. It is very easy to use and something you can wear everyday. I love that is comes with a brush. I would defiantly purchase again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromOntario, Canada
Age25 to 34
Skin ToneLight/Medium
Eye ColorHazel
Using Smashbox forOver 3 Years
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 10, 2016

Love this kit!

This kit is so easy to use and works great with the new Oil Primer! The shading blends in so well that anyone can use it!
Review 16 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromOrange County, CA
Age25 to 34
Skin ToneLight
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox forOver 3 Years
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
PostedNovember 28, 2015

Easy contouring

Blends well. I'm definitely no expert at contouring, so I was surprised at how easy it was with this product. My only complaint would be that the product seems to come out a little too easily. In other words, the brush picks up product very easily, so be careful or you'll end up with powder everywhere. I'm asian and I used the 'contour kit' shade (not the deep one). This was perfect for me since I just don't feel right with the traditional (i.e., pink) blush tones.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromKansas City
Age45 to 54
Skin ToneLight/Medium
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox for1-3 Years
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 1, 2016

Love it! My favorite!

This product is best for:daily
Very natural look. Accentuate the positive. Love all three. Use it every day!
Review 18 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromOran, MO
Age25 to 34
Skin ToneLight/Medium
Eye ColorHazel
Using Smashbox forLess Than 1 Year
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestYes
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 16, 2015

Great product!

I am new to contouring and this product made it easy to get started! There are step you step instructions and three shades to use. The powder adds a subtle hint of contour and doesn't leave my skin oily.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromRedding, CA
Age45 to 54
Skin ToneFair/Light
Eye ColorBrown
Using Smashbox for1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 19, 2011

Love, love, love this!

I've been wanting to try the contour kit for a while...I'll be singing soon on a large stage, and knew this was the time to try it. I've tried a couple of drugstore ones, but they were too bronze-y. I'm very fair skinned, and I have a weak chin. :0( I now have cheekbones! And a more defined jawline! I believe the colors will work on all skin tones, and I highly recommend this product. The brush is a bit smaller than I thought it would be, but for me it isn't a problem.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
fromNorway, NO
Age17 or under
Skin ToneLight
Eye ColorBlue
Using Smashbox forLess Than 1 Year
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestYes
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 10, 2015

PERFECT

This is the perfect contour-kit, I love it! Perfect for an everyday look and to a party.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>