Smashbox Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Contouring made easy!
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 99 reviews
5 Stars
80
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
99 Reviews (88 out of 92(96%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend.)
Customer reviews
Review 1 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarCherrybomb7070
fromLubbock, Texas
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMarch 3, 2015

It's good

User submitted photo
I think as far as contouring palettes go this is good. Still a little chalkie a little more creamier texture. Would be better. But I like it.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMufflebop
fromOpelousas, Louisiana
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMay 5, 2015

Wanted to try contouring...

I had been wanting to try the contouring craze going on at the moment, but was extremely weary of being able to accomplish it correctly. I read the reviews of the Smashbox Contouring Kit and because Smashbox has NEVER disappointed me before, I gave it a shot and purchased it. Thank God, I chose this kit over the ones with 4-6 different shades to choose from because thsee shades are all you need to master the art of contouring! After a little practice, I perfected contouring and it has added so much to my makeup routine and the final look. Yay! Thank you Smasbox! Join the contouring craze and do it with this kit.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarButtercup
fromBoca Raton, Fl
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 13, 2014

So Happy They brought this Back!!

This product is best for:everyone
I always wanted to try this, but it kept getting discontinued. WHY?? So when I saw it was available, I quickly placed my order.I always wanted to contour my round face, but found it too advanced for my skills. I recently bought a contour pencil from another company, but it looked like dirt on my pale skin. But not this compact! I followed the directions step by step, and when I looked in a larger mirror, I was stunned at how good it looked & how natural! The brush made it idiot proof. The color is taupe, thus creating a true shadow effect, & although I never wear bronzer, I found this light enough that it just gave a natural glow. I have read other reviews that say the highlighter is too light, but when light hits your face is does the job. I do recommend that after you have applied the products, blend,blend, & blend some more with a fluffy brush is important.SMASHBOX: Please stop with the discontinuing of great products! Does anyone else remember the artificial light in diffuse? I'm still trying to find something as great as that was, but nothing comes close. I still have the glass bottle :(
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSouthernBelle
fromNew Orleans, LA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Medium/Dark
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJune 20, 2013

Best Contour Kit EVER!!!

This product is best for:accentuating your best features
THANK YOU Smashbox for bringing back this makeup staple! I use this kit every single day and was bummed when I tried to buy another one last year and found out that it was discontinued. Please consider making the Contour Kit part of your permanent collection.
The colors are matte and perfect for adding definition along the jawline, temple, nose and cheekbones. The contour shade is a cool brown (creates the perfect shadow), the bronzer is a mid-tone warm brown (blends like a dream!), and the highlighter gives a sophisticated glow that is daytime/office appropriate (not sparkly at all; also good for highlighting the browbone). The contour brush is just the right size to fit in the hollows of your cheeks and blends the shades effortlessly with no visible or harsh lines. Once you follow the accompanied instructions (love the sticker on the mirror!) and watch Lori's "How to Contour 101" video, you will be simply amazed at the results!!
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarPiaffedreams
fromFolsom, CA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Grey
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 20, 2011

Sultry Jawbones... and Uh--Cleavage!

This product is best for:super sexy sultry looks
You know those slightly chubby cheeks? The ones that always make you look like a little girl instead of a sultry woman no matter how fit and trim you are? Okay, so that is me. I bought this product hoping to put some more dramatic shape to my face.
It looks awesome! I've had so many comments on how sexy I look, how much weight I've lost (and I haven't lost a pound) when I use the Step-By-Step Contour Kit from Smashbox.
In fact, it blended so subtly and naturally, that I tried using it to create some definition into my paltry cleavage one night when wearing a low cut blouse. My husband did a double take! He thought I had on a new bra. Now it is a standard part of my ready routine when wearing any tops that show a little hint of cleavage. I contour with my Smashbox kit. My hint of cleavage looks like honest to goodness defined cleavage.
You've done it again Smashbox. Thank you for a great product!
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatararisgrandma
fromGardner, KS
Age:55 to 64
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 3, 2014

So easy!!

This product is best for:beginner
Due to medications my face has become swollen and I lost my check bones. This set tells me exactly what to put where without any guesswork. Just follow the easy steps as shown and you have a sculpted face without looking like you're faking it. ;-) Thank you Smashbox!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarroesmomma
fromSacramento, CA
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMay 26, 2015

love it!!!

This product is best for:anyone
Oh my!!! I am in love with the contour kit!! I love how it give you a basic guide on how to contour your face. Its smooth doesn't feel to heavy and when I want to do my eyeshadow a neutral earth color I use it as well worth my money!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarCaliber
fromWinnipeg, MB
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMay 30, 2012

My must have

Nice contour kit. Easy to use and comes with instructions if its your first time. Gives me a nice glow and pulls up my cheekbones, only draw back is if you are rather fair like me the highlight may not give you that drama you are looking for but I can put the darkest shade on soft light enough and don't look like a coal miner!
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarbugs28
fromFort Wayne, IN
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 9, 2015

excellent for first time users

This was the best contouring kit ever! Shades works on any skin tone and gives you step by step directions for perfect contouring for every face shape. Plus free brush to get precision.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarBeebee
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 29, 2012

Newbie

I’m pretty new buying Smashbox and specially contouring my face. I am trying to get better at a flawless make up. So far, I am happy with this step-step contour since it has the chart of where/how to apply each product. I have not yet perfected it but I am working on it and I am glad that I started with this product so far so good even though I do a better job with different brush than the one it came with it. For sure, I will continue buying Smashbox.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLily
fromRedding, CA
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 19, 2011

Love, love, love this!

I've been wanting to try the contour kit for a while...I'll be singing soon on a large stage, and knew this was the time to try it. I've tried a couple of drugstore ones, but they were too bronze-y. I'm very fair skinned, and I have a weak chin. :0( I now have cheekbones! And a more defined jawline! I believe the colors will work on all skin tones, and I highly recommend this product. The brush is a bit smaller than I thought it would be, but for me it isn't a problem.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarbloofan
fromFair Oaks, CA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 17, 2012

What a surprise

I did not know about contouring before I saw this kit with smashbox. Now, it is my secret weapon. The photos people take of me have been amazing. The one thing I might suggest is getting a better contour brush. Otherwise, it is an amazing tool.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRenee
fromDavenport, IA
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 27, 2011

Simply Amazing

This product is best for:everyone
I love, love, LOVE this contour kit. This kit does what I had 5 other products for, but SO much better. I love the highlighter because it gives a glowly look without glitter. I'm very fair, but the darkest color still looks believable blended in, and it provides a nose job appearance without the surgery.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarNikkiMarie
fromGarden city, MI
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 6, 2014

Best contouring kit Ever!!!!!!

This product is best for:everyone
Wow smashbox you really blew my mind when I used this contouring kit!!!! I honestly never used anything to contour my face before, but I was curious to try it. I thought it would be difficult to use but I read the directions and watched the how to video, and its so simple to use. I took a picture of myself before and after and wow what a difference. It defined my face so well. My nose, jawline and cheeks looked like a professional did my makeup. Everyone said I looked amazing and asked what I did. When I told them about this kit they were shocked that a little powder can do all that. They assumed I had work done. Lol if I could rate this as a 20 I would. So try it and see what an amazing product can do for you!!! Thank you so much smashbox for making great products so that we all look like movie stars and models.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLiliana
fromHouston, tx
Age:17 or under
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 29, 2015

Amazing contour kit!

This was my first time to contour and this kit was so helpful.
Review 16 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarPepinGirl
fromMN
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMay 14, 2012

Great but I need practice

I love that an application guide is right in the inside cover. This product is fun to play around with and see how your face changes with the different lines. I don't use this as an everyday product but for nights out it's perfect
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmorgan713
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 27, 2011

Perfection

This product is best for:contouring, fair to medium skin tones
The colors in this kit are perfection. They are great for fair to medium skin tones, but I have notices they do not show up as well on my darker skinned clients. Nonetheless, it is a fab kit I personally use every single day. Also, the brush works perfectly in the contours of the face and does not shed.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarTcooper
fromBronx, New York
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
PostedOctober 20, 2011

Love Love Love this kit!

I bought this kit because I wanted to stop being tacky by using eyeshadow to contour. I did myself a huge favor by purchasing this kit. The best part is that it works on fair complextions as well as dark ones. This is an integral part of my makeu kit I don't leave home without it!!!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmakeuplover
fromsilver spring, MD
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Black
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJanuary 4, 2012

Amazing

I truly love this. The first time I applied a lot and I looked scary but after that I learned to apply enough to get natural defined cheekbones. I went from chubby cheeks to defined, beautiful cheeks. I am in love with smashbox products. you should def try it.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBeginner
fromTomball, TX
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMarch 27, 2015

First time contouring and it was easy.

This works great. I'm new to the idea of contouring so, was a little nervous but with the help of the face guide and videos I was able to do it. Really impressed.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>