Smashbox Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Smashbox STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!

Contouring made easy!
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
57 Reviews (51 out of 53(96%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend.)
Customer reviews
Review 1 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSouthernBelle
fromNew Orleans, LA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Medium/Dark
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJune 20, 2013

Best Contour Kit EVER!!!

This product is best for:accentuating your best features
THANK YOU Smashbox for bringing back this makeup staple! I use this kit every single day and was bummed when I tried to buy another one last year and found out that it was discontinued. Please consider making the Contour Kit part of your permanent collection.
The colors are matte and perfect for adding definition along the jawline, temple, nose and cheekbones. The contour shade is a cool brown (creates the perfect shadow), the bronzer is a mid-tone warm brown (blends like a dream!), and the highlighter gives a sophisticated glow that is daytime/office appropriate (not sparkly at all; also good for highlighting the browbone). The contour brush is just the right size to fit in the hollows of your cheeks and blends the shades effortlessly with no visible or harsh lines. Once you follow the accompanied instructions (love the sticker on the mirror!) and watch Lori's "How to Contour 101" video, you will be simply amazed at the results!!
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarCaliber
fromWinnipeg, MB
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMay 30, 2012

My must have

Nice contour kit. Easy to use and comes with instructions if its your first time. Gives me a nice glow and pulls up my cheekbones, only draw back is if you are rather fair like me the highlight may not give you that drama you are looking for but I can put the darkest shade on soft light enough and don't look like a coal miner!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarPiaffedreams
fromFolsom, CA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Grey
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 20, 2011

Sultry Jawbones... and Uh--Cleavage!

This product is best for:super sexy sultry looks
You know those slightly chubby cheeks? The ones that always make you look like a little girl instead of a sultry woman no matter how fit and trim you are? Okay, so that is me. I bought this product hoping to put some more dramatic shape to my face.
It looks awesome! I've had so many comments on how sexy I look, how much weight I've lost (and I haven't lost a pound) when I use the Step-By-Step Contour Kit from Smashbox.
In fact, it blended so subtly and naturally, that I tried using it to create some definition into my paltry cleavage one night when wearing a low cut blouse. My husband did a double take! He thought I had on a new bra. Now it is a standard part of my ready routine when wearing any tops that show a little hint of cleavage. I contour with my Smashbox kit. My hint of cleavage looks like honest to goodness defined cleavage.
You've done it again Smashbox. Thank you for a great product!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
fromDearborn, Michigan
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 1, 2014

Smashbox Bronzer

This product is best for:anyone
The Smashbox Bronzer kit gives professional results; it's easy to use and includes instructions you will only have to read once. The brush is used at three angles with the three different shades of bronzer to give you the image facial of structure you see on models.
Review 5 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarKarlee
fromOrlando, FL
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedSeptember 29, 2014

Great kit!

I have been on the hunt for a contour and highlighting set for a while now, and I'm so happy I found this one. The contour is the perfect color, not too ashy or pigmented that it makes my face look dirty. The bronzer and highlighter add just enough glow to achieve the natural look I love.
Review 6 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avataryasmine
fromPhiladelphia PA
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedSeptember 29, 2014

Big Disappointment

This product just does not work for me. Using a single brush makes it much more difficult to apply, After several failed attempts, it's in the trash.
Review 7 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLaynie5487
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedSeptember 26, 2014

Looks great!

This contour kit is great. The colors look natural on my skin tone and provide just enough contouring without looking fake or obvious. I love the bronzing color - it's perfect to wear alone or with the rest of the contouring kit.
Review 8 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarBeebee
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 29, 2012

Newbie

I’m pretty new buying Smashbox and specially contouring my face. I am trying to get better at a flawless make up. So far, I am happy with this step-step contour since it has the chart of where/how to apply each product. I have not yet perfected it but I am working on it and I am glad that I started with this product so far so good even though I do a better job with different brush than the one it came with it. For sure, I will continue buying Smashbox.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarlittlespoon
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedSeptember 25, 2014

Awesome for Beginners

this was my first time contouring and i felt like a pro!
Review 10 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarbloofan
fromFair Oaks, CA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedAugust 17, 2012

What a surprise

I did not know about contouring before I saw this kit with smashbox. Now, it is my secret weapon. The photos people take of me have been amazing. The one thing I might suggest is getting a better contour brush. Otherwise, it is an amazing tool.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRenee
fromDavenport, IA
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedNovember 27, 2011

Simply Amazing

This product is best for:everyone
I love, love, LOVE this contour kit. This kit does what I had 5 other products for, but SO much better. I love the highlighter because it gives a glowly look without glitter. I'm very fair, but the darkest color still looks believable blended in, and it provides a nose job appearance without the surgery.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLily
fromRedding, CA
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 19, 2011

Love, love, love this!

I've been wanting to try the contour kit for a while...I'll be singing soon on a large stage, and knew this was the time to try it. I've tried a couple of drugstore ones, but they were too bronze-y. I'm very fair skinned, and I have a weak chin. :0( I now have cheekbones! And a more defined jawline! I believe the colors will work on all skin tones, and I highly recommend this product. The brush is a bit smaller than I thought it would be, but for me it isn't a problem.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarPepinGirl
fromMN
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMay 14, 2012

Great but I need practice

I love that an application guide is right in the inside cover. This product is fun to play around with and see how your face changes with the different lines. I don't use this as an everyday product but for nights out it's perfect
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMarjorie
fromBangkok, Thailand
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJune 19, 2013

Can't live without it!

This product is best for:everyone
Please add this kit to your core line and never discontinue it. It's the best contour kit ever!!! The color combination is perfect for my medium skin tone and it looks very natural. The application was very easy after following the instruction on the video. I purchased mine a while back and was disappointed to find out that it was no longer available. I'm so glad it's back! Even for a limited time! I would recommend this kit to everyone.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmorgan713
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 27, 2011

Perfection

This product is best for:contouring, fair to medium skin tones
The colors in this kit are perfection. They are great for fair to medium skin tones, but I have notices they do not show up as well on my darker skinned clients. Nonetheless, it is a fab kit I personally use every single day. Also, the brush works perfectly in the contours of the face and does not shed.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmakeuplover
fromsilver spring, MD
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Black
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJanuary 4, 2012

Amazing

I truly love this. The first time I applied a lot and I looked scary but after that I learned to apply enough to get natural defined cheekbones. I went from chubby cheeks to defined, beautiful cheeks. I am in love with smashbox products. you should def try it.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarTcooper
fromBronx, New York
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
PostedOctober 20, 2011

Love Love Love this kit!

I bought this kit because I wanted to stop being tacky by using eyeshadow to contour. I did myself a huge favor by purchasing this kit. The best part is that it works on fair complextions as well as dark ones. This is an integral part of my makeu kit I don't leave home without it!!!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDarlenam
fromPhiladelphia, Pa
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJune 19, 2013

Confused

This is a great kit which I bought when it first came out. I wonder why something that is popular would be dc'd and only brought back for a limited time hence the title "Confused."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarMariela
fromSan Jose Costa Rica, Florida
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
PostedAugust 1, 2012

so dark for white people

maybe for average people but i look horrible with them maybe can use it like shadow but dont like it at all
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for STEP-BY-STEP CONTOUR KIT Limited Quantities!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarLilo
fromDimona, Israel
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJune 30, 2012

An easy way for creating A contour look

This product is best for:creatin a natural contour
I wanted to buy this "step-by-step Contour kit" for a long time. As soon as I got my order I've started to use this kit and I have to say that it's makes contouring very easy. The shades aren't very dark so this is a product is best for light to medium skin tones.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>