Smashbox Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Smashbox LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Smashbox.

Smashbox LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM

Get two lip products in this one innovative duo! On one side: a long-wearing stain. On the other: a very emollient balm.
Overall rating:
4.15 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
80 Reviews (62 out of 75(83%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend.)
Customer reviews
Review 1 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarscamyak
fromMadison Heights, MI
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJuly 9, 2012

Fantastic color!

User submitted photo
Love the color, and use the pen style tip to line my lips.....this is my new staple!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarkristielyn
fromforest grove, oregon
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 14, 2012

a stain that lasts all day

I love this stain. It lasts all day and doesn't see to dry out my lips. The balm has great pigment and moisture to it.
That being said I would've given it 3 1/2 stars if I could have and this is why.. The stain applicator only releases a small amount and then it appears empty until you wait a few inutes and try again. I've tried setting the pen up,down, and laying down, it does'nt matter. Also whith this problem you have no clue as to how much is left in the pen. I hope they fix this or give instructions on how to make the pen work like it should. The cap for the balm has to be lined up just right or you're going to break it off.
All of that being said it truely is a great stain. It just appears that they need to work out some packaging kinks.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarrbonnet
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedJanuary 9, 2013

Maybe I have weird lips?

I LOVE Smashbox. Seriously, I am addicted. However.... I am basically lazy and always look for long-lasting lipsticks but was having problems finding my drugstore brand in the color I wanted. Enter Smashbox!
On me, however, the color faded within two hours....
Sorry....
I think it's great if you're just using it for a shoot, or if you like to reapply frequently. It just wasn't close to long-lasting. :-(
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarElle
fromTacoma, WA
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedDecember 29, 2011

Could be better

I really liked the concept, but wasn't completely enamoured with the execution. The tint is drying to my lips and goes on a bit splotchy. While was still wet, I used my finger to even it out. The emollient balm is the only reason I did not rate lower. It save my lips from the drtying tint.
One MAJOR complaint about the balm - IT DOES NOT RETRACT!! I am afraid I am going to damage the balm when I am recapping it.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarBeautyJunkie
fromTampa, FL
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedSeptember 28, 2012

very nice effect but doesn't stay on

This product is best for:building lip shade
This lip stain is very nice and can be layered for deeper color. The tinted balm adds a lovely, creamy look. My only complaint is that is does not stay on, I found it wore off after only a couple of hours. Most lip stains actually "stain" the lips and give a nice natural, lasting color wash. The color is great but it has no staying power. Fine if you don't mind frequent reapplication.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRawr
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Green
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 28, 2011

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT

This stain really has staying power! I put this product on a few nights ago at about 6 pm. I washed and scrubbed my face when I went to bed at about 1 am. There were still traces of stain on my lips the next morning!
The only drawback to this stain is that it wears off oddly, which can leave you looking like you only applied lip liner. As long as you stay on top of that, it is a great product.
Make sure to apply it to completely clean lips - if you have chapstick/balm on already, you won't get a good application and it will also gum up the product. Your lips will stay hydrated by using the balm included. I want to collect this stain in every color!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarkfouquette
fromTwin Cities, MN
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMarch 15, 2012

Goes on splotchy and wears unevenly

I really wanted this lip stain to work so I could replace my drug store lip stain with something better.
I tried the Cinnamon. It applied very unevenly. I had to use my fingers to get the product applied everywhere. It made my lips look very dry (which they aren't) because the color stains the inner part of the lips way more than the outer part. I applied the gloss and the color evened out somewhat. However when my husband saw me an hour later, he asked if my lips hurt or if I was getting cold sores! You know it's bad if your husband makes a comment like that! The color had worn off of the middle of my lips, leaving a ring around the middle of my mouth and on the outside like crazy lip liner.
Maybe the Cinnamon was too dark for me and teh Nune might work better, but I don't think I'll try this product again. I wanted the stain to give lots of long lasting color. I'll just use the O-Glow or my drug store lip stains.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarsmargo
fromBoston, MA
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedJanuary 18, 2013

Limitless lip stain

This product is best for:medium/dark skintones
I love wearing a lip stain (and gloss over it) as the duo generally lasts much longer than lipstick. I was a bit surprised by how bright and heavy the color Sangria was. It looked too loud on my fair skin and was quite difficult to remove. While it looked garish on me, it would probably work much better for someone with medium/dark skin tones.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarZuriMama
fromBay Area, CA
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
PostedNovember 19, 2011

Love the color but...

I've tried it twice so far, and both times it has disappeared in less than an hour. I thought I had done something wrong or ect, so I tried again after reading that you need to wait a minute or so for the stain to dry before applying the balm,yet it still came off in less than an hr which was really disappointing bc I went to an interview and it looked like I had a gangster lip liner when I checked after. I didn't check bc I did it how I was supposed to and it's a stain.
The color I tried was Sangria which was beautiful and a great shade for the Holidays. Maybe I just got a bad batch. I'm returning it and exchanging for the new holiday palette. I got the one from last year and LOVE it ;D
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarbb2511
fromNY
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 5, 2012

Great lipstain

This product is best for:busy professional, seeking low-maintenance glamour
Super lipstain- better than the others on the market (and I have tried them all). This won't last all day- does need reapplication specifically after eating or drinking- but certainly lasts longer than old-fashioned lipstick (or other-brand stains). The balm is nicely moisturizing with color and without the stickiness of gloss. I give it 4 points instead of 5 because it isn't as long-lasting as advertised.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarFelicia
fromMcAllen, TX
Age:18 to 24
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedJuly 31, 2012

Great but my mistake

This product is best for:dry lips, lips
I ordered this in Nude thinking it would be like the Legendary Lipstick Nylon Nude (my own mistake, I didn't look carefully) and sure enough they were not the same "nude". Regardless, I do love this product because the stain does last throughout the day and the color seal balm makes my lips feel incredibly soft. Love it and I would definitely recommend this product.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarMelissaMD
fromTampa, Fl
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedJuly 27, 2012

8 Hours? Try 8 Minutes...

Okay, maybe it lasted more than eight minutes, but it did not last even an hour--and that's without eating or drinking. I was left with lipstain in some areas and none in others. I saw my reflection and was embarrassed. Returned it the next day, still awaiting a refund.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmcr29
fromSacramento, CA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 12, 2012

Lasts a long time with major color impact!

This product is best for:ladies on the go
This stuff is not quite limitless, but it will last almost all day, even through eating and drinking. It does not feather and when it is wearing off, the color will gradually fade, rather than leaving a ring around your mouth. This stuff even lasted on my lips into the day after I wore it! The guava color is a succulent orangey red. It's very bright and not for the faint of heart. I will definitely be back for more colors!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatariluvlabbies
fromNashville, TN
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedFebruary 4, 2012

Great lip color that lasts

First time trying one of Smashbox's lip colors - I have been a longtime user of eyeshadows and foundation base. The color is rich and the matching lip balm is a nice touch that can give you a pop of color if you don't feel like going with both. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the lip stain applicator feels a lot like a sharpie/magic marker when being applied. No fumes, but not as smooth as I would have liked. Overall though, the color is great and it does stay on for a long time without reapplying.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMNMaureen
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:45 to 54
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Over 3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 30, 2011

BEST lip stain out there!

I cried when the original version of this lip stain was discontinued a few years ago and was thrilled to hear it was coming back. I was NOT disappointed! The colour lasts and lasts, with no transfer & the lip balm boosts the pigment in the stain by adding just the right amount of shine and wonderful long-lasting hydration. I've bought is in every shade, but nude is my favourite. The deeper, brighter shades tend to grab a little more in any dry areas, for a less-than-even application.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMegs
fromEagan, MN
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedOctober 21, 2011

Perfect for Brides!

I'm a professional makeup artist and started using Smashbox products about 3 years ago and love them. I purchased the lip stain a few months ago for my brides and boudoir clients. I can put this stain on and know that it will be a while before they have to re-apply. It's long lasting and doesn't build up and leave creases like most stains. The lip balm brings back a natural sheen and looks beautiful. I will continue to recommend this product to my clients and other makeup professionals.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarLaurita
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedFebruary 4, 2012

Guava red is amazing!

Got guava and I love it, it is the only way to use red, have dinner and look gorgeous. My husband also loves the color, is hot. Last for hours. I will buy again, I'm giving 4 stars because is drying my lips but I used the balm and other shine on top and seems to work that way.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarPdxbiker77
fromPortland, OR
Age:35 to 44
Skin Tone:Fair/Light
Eye Color:Brown
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedMarch 21, 2012

Whoa! Blindingly bright!

This color really lasts forever, but Coral was much, much brighter than it appeared online. It's a little overly dramatic for day. This is definitely a nighttime va-va-voom shade.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarRachelMc
fromBristol, Tn
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Light/Medium
Eye Color:Hazel
Using Smashbox for:Less Than 1 Year
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedApril 9, 2012

Smooth and true

The color is highly pigmented. Goes on smooth and true. Doesn't dry out.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LIMITLESS LIP STAIN & COLOR SEAL BALM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
fromLos Angeles. CA
Age:25 to 34
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Using Smashbox for:1-3 Years
Recommend to a friend?
Yes
PostedDecember 29, 2011

Amazing.

This product is best for:every women
I am a makeup junkie. I literally have every lip stain possible. Nothing has ever gone on so smooth and actually last as long. I am thrilled the gloss is colored as well! I am extremely light, I have dark brown hair and blue eyes. I looove Guava! Beautiful! Thank you <3
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>